top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid IWriteStuff

You Gotta Have Faith

It may surprise some of you to know that I count myself as one of the faithful, and at the same time reject religion. It is not something I often talk about, as it is extremely personal to me, as I imagine it is to others as well. In addition, a great deal of my beliefs fall outside the standards of religious doctrine. Today, I find myself contemplating these ideas and ideals and would like to share with you some musings on faith versus religion.


Faith gives me freedom.

Religion limits one to regiment and ceremony. Faith lets us rest in relaxation and certainty.


Faith is inclusive.

Religion divides us, teaching us to apply labels to all others. Faith shows us that we may rise above labels and come together.


Faith is empowerment.

Religion sentences us to a cage of limited thoughts and actions. Faith frees us to think about possibilities that others cannot.


Faith strengthens.

Religion dictates sedentary obedience. Faith beckons us to action.


For you see faith allows me to believe in something bigger than me – bigger than all of us.

While religion serves to make one small and petty. Faith frees us to explore the idea of a God that has a plan for us all.







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page