top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavid IWriteStuff

The Bold and The Bearded

I often stroke it. I like to play with it. It relaxes me, helps me think. I take care of it. Keep it clean, conditioned, styled if I’m headed somewhere of importance.


I’m talking of course about my beard. It’s a hardy brown-red, with admittedly a few sparse muddled grey tones. However, I feel those add a bit of character, a suggestion of wisdom and experience, perhaps?


I was always reluctant to grow it out in my younger days. I wondered if I had the strength to command such a creature, tame it and make it my own. Now that I have trained the beast, I will never go back to an ignorant, naked countenance.


Alas, everyone has an opinion. Some surveys suggests beards are linked to criminality or deceit. I would offer that it adds to my joviality and sense of mischief. However, where mere opinions fail us we must turn to science. Even if to attempt to define something as fantastic and magical as the beard with science is near-blasphemy.


While scientific theory has yet to fully develop its hypothesis on the as yet-undiscovered element that makes up the beard, it can offer us a glimpse into how mortals view the appearance of pure facial machismo. Dixson, and Brooks (2013) have wrenched at least some elusive knowledge of the mysterious powers of the beard and have confirmed, that next to faces with heavy stubble, women found those with heavy beards more attractive. To those women who were clearly lunatics and chose the men with stubble, I would remind you ladies, as in the midst of your mania you may have forgotten that stubble is what scratches your skin and lips. A full beard however, is soft, supple and warmly-inviting.


The pair go further to assert that within each of us there is a link between the perception of socio-sexual attributes. Meaning, full-bearded men are regarded as more masculine, having protective qualities and performing as better fathers who might “invest in offspring” (Dixson, & Brooks, 2013). This high level of respect for full-fledged manliness were echoed by both men and women.


So to those mere mortals out there that might feel suddenly light-headed when in the presence of a beard, it’s ok, science has proclaimed that this is likely to happen. And for those that want a taste of this God-like power, I suggest you attempt to tame a beast of your own.





Reference

Dixson, B. J., & Brooks, R. C. (2013). Original Article: The role of facial hair in women’s perceptions of men’s attractiveness, health, masculinity and parenting abilities. Evolution and Human Behavior, 34, 236–241.



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Papaw

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page